Scientific Advisory Committee

OCRF’s Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is comprised of the nation's leading gynecologic oncologists and researchers. The SAC members belong to and serve on many of the most prestigious medical associations, including the National Cancer Institute, the American Cancer Society, the American Medical Association, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and the Society of Gynecologic Oncologists. They are the leaders in the field of ovarian cancer research.

Jeff Boyd, Ph.D., Chair

Senior Vice President
Fox Chase Cancer Center

Carmel J. Cohen, M.D., Vice - Chair

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Mount Sinai Medical Center

Robert C. Bast, Jr., M.D.

Head, Division of Medicine and Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Medical Oncology, Department of Medicine
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Andrew Berchuck, M.D.

Director of Gynecologic Cancer Research
Professor of Gynecologic Oncology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

Jonathan S. Berek, M.D., M.M.S.

Professor and Chair - Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Director, Women's Cancer Center, Stanford Cancer Center

Molly Brewer, D.V.M., M.D., M.S.

Chair, Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Director of Gynecologic Oncology
Carole and Ray Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of Connecticut Health Center

Ronald Buckanovich, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Division of Hematology Oncology Division of Gynecologic Oncology University of Michigan

Ronny I. Drapkin, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology, Harvard Medical School
Associate Pathologist, Pathology, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Ernst Lengyel, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Professor, Section of Gynecologic Oncology
University of Chicago

Douglas A. Levine, M.D.

Head, Gynecology Research Laboratory
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Ursula Matulonis, M.D.

Medical Director, Gynecologic Oncology Susan F. Smith Center for Women's Cancers Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Kenneth Nephew, Ph.D.

Professor, Departments of Cellular and Integrative Physiology; Obstetrics and Gynecology; Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry Indiana University School of Medicine & Simon Cancer Center

Kunle Odunsi, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Gynecologic Oncology Executive Director, Center for Immunotherapy Co-Leader, Tumor Immunology and Immunotherapy Research Program Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Sandra Orsulic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Chair, Women's Cancer Biology
Women's Cancer Research Program
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Stephen C. Rubin, M.D.

Chief, Gynecologic Cancer
Professor of Surgical Oncology
Fox Chase Cancer Center

Carolyn D. Runowicz, M.D.

Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Florida International University

Michael V. Seiden, M.D., Ph.D.

Sr. Vice President & Chief Medical Officer
McKesson Specialty Health

Ie-Ming Shih, M.D., Ph.D.

Departments of Pathology, Oncology and Gynecology/Obstetrics
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Elizabeth Swisher, M.D.

Professor, Gynecologic Oncology
Director, Breast and Ovarian Cancer Prevention Program
University of Washington School of Medicine